Dear PandoraJam Fans…

Update 3 (2 Dec 11) PandoraJam 2 works with Pandora.com’s HTML5 player, so this post can be disregarded. If you are using PandoraJam 1.x please upgrade for free to PandoraJam 2.


Update 2 (24 Sep 11) Good news. We’ve been able to restore most features and continue to make progress. Please keep your PandoraJam updated via the menu option ‘Check for Updates…’ or download from this link: http://www.bitcartel.com/downloads/pandorajam.zip

Update 1 (22 Sep 11) Some cheerful news! We have released a test version of PandoraJam 2 which has basic support for Pandora.com’s new HTML5 player. Please update the app via the menu option ‘Check for Updates…’

Dear PandoraJam Fans…
It’s probably been coming ever since Pandora announced their new HTML5 player… bad news.

Over the last few weeks we’ve been working hard at keeping PandoraJam working with Pandora.com’s classic Flash player.  In fact, a few more bugs had been fixed and issues resolved this week, and like car enthusiasts, there was some satisfaction in keeping the motor running and tuned up.  In the end though, it never rains, it pours.

This Wednesday evening, PandoraJam was chugging along as usual. Sweet. However as of around midnight EST, it seems Pandora.com turned off the classic Flash version and are now pushing all listeners to use their new HTML5 based player.  A hint of that was detected when earlier in the day it was noticed that a link titled ‘Old Site’ had been removed from Pandora.com’s HTML5 player (they have a minimum browser specification where all browsers support the new player).
Overall, this is great news for Pandora fans as the classic Flash player was resource intensive, but bad news for PandoraJam. The classic Flash player no longer loads.  With the classic Flash player turned off, PandoraJam no longer functions.  Kaput!  We must admit, we’re somewhat surprised at how quickly Flash has been removed, as we felt Pandora.com would let listeners who use older operating systems and browsers stick around for say 12 to 18 months (there’s little development cost in keeping the old Flash player around), but alas, no.

Thus, sadly, with immediate effect we are temporarily suspending sales of PandoraJam.  Our refund policy is normally 30 days but we’re extending it out to Aug 1st (just under two months).  If you need a refund, email support@bitcartel.com (purchases and refunds are processed through FastSpring, our payment processor).  For long-time users, we hope you’ve had fun and enjoyed zillions of hours of music pleasure, and all for less than the cost of a beer and pizza 😉
Update: Sales are back online now
Will there be a PandoraJam 2 with HTML5 support?  We don’t have an answer at this point but we’re working on it. We think it should be possible, we might lose some features, but that will still be better than looking at a blank screen.  If there is a PandoraJam 2, it will be a free upgrade for all users.  We’ll keep you posted as to progress (more frequent updates on our twitter feed).
Update: For clarification, we are attempting to restore all features. Note that PandoraJam 2 requires OS X 10.5 or later.

Since the summer of 2007, we’ve been receiving emails from music fans who found PandoraJam, fell in love with Pandora, and ended up becoming Pandora One subscribers.  It’s been quite a journey to watch Pandora, a little startup in Oakland, grow into a publicly listed company on the NASDAQ , and quite remarkable that the Flash based player lasted so long at all.  Now they’re all grown up and HTML5… yet with Google Music, iCloud, Spotify, Rdio, Turntable, and others hitting the scene, it’s like the internet music party is only just getting started.
Stay wired. Namaste.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Dear PandoraJam Fans…

  1. Anonymous says:

    Is there any way to leverage the Adobe AIR version of Pandora Client ?

  2. NoIcing says:

    Seriously! You sound like you are just quitting and have given up which I hope is not true. PandoaJam is awesome and I hope you can get a new version up and running soon…. Pandora is not the same to me without PandoraJam….

  3. Anonymous says:

    Thanks so much for all your work on this. At first I was skeptical, but it's completely changed the way I discover music. Don't give up! I will follow the status of this with great interest.- A Fan

  4. Anonymous says:

    R.I.P. PandoraJam. You will be greatly missed! Thanks for all your hard work keeping the old version running as well as it did. Also, a big thanks for your one-on-one support in helping me determine my problems were not bugs with PJ, but problems in my Mac setup! :)Best of luck with PandoraJam2!

  5. Anonymous says:

    Say it ain't so. A sad day for sure. Come out with an update please.. would gladly pay for an update. For it's not your fault they have changed the technology being used. Rock On.

  6. Doug says:

    First off, thank you for being so up front with this. It is sooo nice to not be left in the dark. I know it's not always fun to give bad news, but it sure beats no communication at all. Thank you, thank you.I would agree that it's surprising how quickly Pandora phased out the Flash version. I know it was old, but that was pretty quick. A quick look around the interwebs shows that most if not all third-party Pandora apps are broken now without the Flash version. Hopefully you guys can come up with something cool that will work with the new Pandora. I loved most of the features you had, but my favorite was the global keyboard shortcuts. (It really bugs me to have to switch to an application just to pause, like you have to do with Pandora's official AIR-based desktop app). So if you get stuck on some features like recording but are able to provide global keyboard shortcuts, I'd welcome a beta version or something with global shortcuts in it. I listen to Pandora pretty much all day every workday. I purchased PandoraJam a few years ago and it has been worth every penny. Thanks for building such a great product and I wish you luck as you try to build a new version to work with the new Pandora.Cheers!

  7. Simon says:

    @Nolcing Thanks. We're not giving up. Just don't want to set expectations.

  8. Simon says:

    @Anonymous We have no expertise with Adobe AIR… sorry.

  9. Casemon says:

    @SimonNo air expertise? Sounds like a good chance to post a job opp.! 🙂

  10. Alicia says:

    Love you guys. Thanks for an amazing product I've been using for years. HTML5 is coming in force, thanks to Steve Jobs. I welcome it. Now this push from Pandora will give it even more momentum. I trust you guys will come up with Pandorajam2 and it will be AWESOME!! Once again THANK YOU for an awesome piece of software.I'll keep an eye on your development!

  11. Anonymous says:

    Do you know if Pandora actually change the client protocol ?If not, can weDig up the old site from our cacheHost it locallyModify the crossdomain.xml to allow access to pandora.comChange the URL in PandoraJam to something like http://localhost/pandora/pandorajam.html FYI, I would pay again for V2..

  12. keith says:

    I would be willing to pay more/donate to the cause if it means you folks will be able to continue working on this. I truly love PandoraJam and I think you've built something wonderful. I'd hate to see it fall by the wayside.

  13. Jeremy says:

    Nooooo I literally just bought PandoraJam YESTERDAY because of its amazing features 😥 I'm so sad, I was telling all of my friends about it today at school too.

  14. Anonymous says:

    Just found and purchased Pandorajam about a week ago. It rocked! Little did I realize it would be so short lived. Offering an extended period for refund is quite generous of you and speaks well for your character. No, I don't want my money back. It was worth every penny even for just the few days and I want to support anything you can develop with HTML5 Pandora. Thanks for all your efforts.

  15. Anonymous says:

    Since I downloaded PandoraJam, there hasn't been a single day that I have not used it. It is one of the best Mac apps out there. So, first and foremost, I want to thank you very much for developing such an amazing product. Like many others have said, I am willing to pay or donate to the cause so that there is a PandoraJam 2.0. PandoraJam 1.0 was worth every single penny, and I hope that there will be a PandoraJam 2.0 to follow in its footsteps.

  16. Anonymous says:

    Goodbye and thanks for all the fish!

  17. Anonymous says:

    I echo everything being said… I just got PandoraJam last week and instantly fell in love! I have had Pandora for years but never bothered listening to it. PandoraJam is brilliant and I really hope it can be revived. Like everyone else, I am happy to pay to make it happen. I wish I had found out about it long ago… Thank you!

  18. Anonymous says:

    Wow! After reading the comments, I am happy that I found PandoraJam so early. I love it, and I miss it already. I will also be happy to repurchase it. But as a developer myself, I understand and also respect your honesty. Please rewrite the software it if you can. I have gotten my monies worth many, many times over.Thanks for a great product.

  19. Anonymous says:

    I am one of those who discovered became a PandoraOne member only after I found PandoraJam. It has generally been the first thing I launch in the morning for the last several years. While I don't mind seeing the backside of Flash I too am shocked at the quick transition to HTML5. I suppose that speaks to Pandora's efforts to make it solid right from the start.I too will be happy to pull out the credit card to pay for PandoraJam v. 2 with HTML5 support. In fact the first thing I did after downloading the beta 2 this morning was visit your site and click on the buy PandoraJam button. The broken link brought me over here to see what's up. Best of luck with it – I'm a university professor and have plugged PandoraJam to several hundred students – can't wait to talk it up some more. Thanks for keeping us in the know and I'll be watching Twitter (and of course still firing up PandoraJam 2 beta every morning).

  20. Josh says:

    When you try to install the update it complains that it is improperly signed after downloading it.Any ideas what that means, it seems kinda scary and I don't wanna continue till I know?

  21. Anonymous says:

    Love the program.., hoping for the best, for you and for us.Good luck,Daniel

  22. Simon says:

    @Josh Nothing to worry about. We use Sparkle to handle updates, and they now require updates to be signed or over SSL. Older versions of PandoraJam were configured slightly differently. Going forward the error should disappear.

  23. Josh says:

    Perfect, thanks Simon. Yeah I just re-downloaded the app and its working just great! Glad to see you guys are still working on PandoraJam!

  24. Anonymous says:

    Multiple year user of your software — would be more than happy to repurchase it when you're ready with the HTML5 version. Happy coding!

  25. Anonymous says:

    Use this opportunity to come back even stronger. Make PandoraJam 2 work with both Pandora & Spotify. 🙂

  26. Anonymous says:

    Wow. My version of pandorajam was still working even with the new non-flash interface, and when I saw the upgrade I clicked on it. And now I have lost all of the functionality worth having. A little warning would have been nice; I was perfectly happy without this horrible "upgrade"!

  27. patsguin says:

    You guys made my summer worth living. It was amazing listening to all new bands and everything! And getting it sent to my iTunes. Love you guys! Please don't give up. You can do it!

  28. Yobder says:

    What a GREAT SURPRISE! Beautiful job, now if we just get a FaceBook function.

  29. Craig says:

    The value of Pandorajam for me was the ability to record tracks and put on my iPod. That's how I discovered artists I like and then would buy their music, visit their website. I used to listen to Pandora at work, but I didn't have the time/attention to see what that track was, who the artist was, not even able to give a thumbs up. It wasn't until I could have the track on my iPod and listen away from work, and play that track again, that I would begin to see what I liked out of the music salad that Pandora serves up.In my case Pandorajam encouraged sales that wouldn't have happened from Pandora.Without Pandorajam, I'll probably explore some of the other music streaming options, because Pandora's mixes weren't always so great.

  30. Anonymous says:

    Yeah, baby! Gotta give you some great feedback here. I was woefully premature in thinking my Pandorajam was "short lived." Lookin' good so far with the second HTML5 Pandora beta update. This very minute my favorite features are working flawlessly.Way to go! Growl is even working alongside again. You guys are awesome. Thanks for sticking with it.

  31. Anonymous says:

    Amazed how fast the upgrade came out. One problem with the scrobbling is that it now seems to be trying to scrobble ads – I have "Null – ad" and "Null – audioad" in my last.fm library.

  32. T Grier says:

    One feature that that I have asked about in the past… is to allow for multiple "express" or Apple2TV" to be used as the same time. Like iTunes does. I am using the beta 2 in the home now and it works great. The recording feature does not seem to be working tho

  33. Anonymous says:

    excellent quick work on html5 version!

  34. Casemon says:

    Looks like Pandora went ahead and updated the player AGAIN (Tuesday Sept. 27th evening GMT-8) and the new PandoraJam HTML5 version no longer works :(Looking forward to a fix!

  35. Anonymous says:

    Nice work on the new version. It's working great for me. Trying to figure out how we went from "it's over" to a fully functional new version in a matter of days. But anyhow, glad you decided to not give up.

Leave a Reply

