Could the last listener in Britain please turn out the lights?

Pandora.com will be turning off their service to folks in the UK today, although at the time of writing, the service is still up and running. I suspect when the clock chimes at midnight, the lights will go off…

I you really love Pandora and PandoraJam, and reside outside the USA (or happen to be on holiday or a lucky ex-pat posted in some exotic location), there are a few options to get you rocking again.

The first is to pony up for a VPN service, based in the USA, which will give you a USA based IP address. Google is your friend here, with some providers costing only a few bucks a month. Translation – for the cost of a few pints a month, you can enjoy Pandora and other US only sites, and a decent VPN service is useful in itself, especially if you’re a laptop roadwarrior.

The second option is to hop on over to GlobalPandora – it only works in your browser, but it really works! A few folks contacted me to give me the heads up. I’ll be taking a closer look at GlobalPandora to see if its something that can be mashed-up with PandoraJam. In the meantime, you should hop over to the site, and give it a spin. I’m not affiliated with the people responsible for GlobalPandora so you’re flying solo – caveat emptor and all that.

As mentioned in my previous post, get in touch if you’re in the UK and you purchased the software recently (from Dec 1st, 2007) and I can issue you a refund if you want. If you purchased before this time, get in touch and I’ll sort out a discount coupon for some of my other software.

Finally, the third option is to listen to another audio service. What’s hot and what’s not? Let me know!

UPDATE: It’s definitely over for the Brits. The official Pandora blog now mentions it too. If you visit the Pandora web-site from the UK you get this message:
“We are deeply, deeply sorry to say that due to licensing constraints, we can no longer allow access to Pandora for listeners located outside of the U.S. We will continue to work diligently to realize the vision of a truly global Pandora, but for the time being we are required to restrict its use. We are very sad to have to do this, but there is no other alternative.”

This entry was posted in music, pandora, pandorajam. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Could the last listener in Britain please turn out the lights?

  1. Having read this I believed it was really informative. I appreciate you spending some time and effort to put this informative article together.
    I once again find myself spending a lot of time both reading and leaving comments.
    But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  2. I was excited to discover this site. I wanted to thank you for your time due to this fantastic read!
    ! I definitely enjoyed every part of it and I have you
    saved as a favorite to see new things on your blog.

Leave a Reply

