Farewell PandoraJam

445px-Lawrence_Alma-Tadema_10Sadly, with immediate effect as of November 5th, PandoraJam will no longer be available.

Representatives of Pandora Media contacted us recently and after some deliberation and without prejudice, we have decided to halt development of PandoraJam in order to ensure our time and resources are focused on productive endeavours.

What does this mean for existing PandoraJam users?

  • There will no longer be any updates or fixes to PandoraJam, so at some point in the future the software will probably cease to function due to bugs and incompatibilities.  We are sorry for any inconvenience.
  • If you purchased PandoraJam recently, please e-mail support@bitcartel.com or contact FastSpring (our payment processor) for a refund.  Normally refunds are only good for 30 days but given the circumstances, if you purchased any time from August 1st onwards, we will issue a refund. UPDATE 1/1/2014 – It’s a new year, and refund window has now closed.
  • For reference, if you come across files archived by software search engines or encyclopedias, the final release was v2.1 beta (build 650) in zip file format with a SHA1 digest of  d1de35e7773bc549af186e8c12603c867db6805d.
  • If you require your registration code or have any other queries, please e-mail support@bitcartel.com.
Theoi_PandoraThe story of Πανδώρα (Pandora) has passed between generations for more than 2,500 years

To all our users, farewell and thanks for rocking out with PandoraJam.

χαλεπὰ τὰ καλά

This entry was posted in mac, pandora, pandorajam and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Farewell PandoraJam

  1. John Stone says:

    Hmmm, never saw the law change on recording the radio, and being that the RIAA wanted to list Pandora as a radio station for fees, then not sure where the problem here is. Sorry to see you guys have to drop this project.

  2. Professr says:

    Is there a chance you’ll release the source? I really hate to see this great program go away :(

  3. Code Guy says:

    Second the request to release the source code. In whatever state it’s in, just push it to github somewhere.

  4. +1 to open sourcing the code. I’ve been a customer for a long time and would hate to see this completely die.

  5. Jon Brown says:

    Bummer… I prefered PandoraJam to running Pandora in a Fluid SSB. For a long time, especially back in the flash days it was nice to have it isolated from everything else.

    I’ll keep using it as long as it keeps working, eventually though I guess I’ll run it in an SSB or an actual browser window… or switch to Apple’s new streaming radio service… although I readily admit I’m very stuck on Pandora.

    Thanks for all the hard work over the years on PJ and good luck.

  6. Assorted Jam says:

    Hopefully you guys got a decent amount of P for the settlement :)

    Let’s hope that P don’t screw their paying customers by keeping the compatibility in high quality mode. Otherwise the reasons to stick to P are vanishing quickly.

  7. Interested User says:

    if anyone has build 650, it would be much appreciated if you could upload it somewhere and post a link here :)

    i only have build 649 https://www.dropbox.com/s/2l1g3ppz2zyat0s/pandoraJam_649.zip

  8. Another Interested User says:
  9. NOOOOOO!!!!! This is the worse news I’ve heard all day :(((

    Please, someone anyone release the source (anonymously, if needed!?). This app is too good to not maintain in some form.

  10. Brian says:

    Releasing the sources would be awesome. It would probably become even more awesome!

  11. Joseph says:

    I also think releasing the source code would be a great idea!

  12. Bill says:

    Here’s my email to Pandora
    Subject: Why I am Canceling my Subscription – You bullied PandoraJam so I step away from supporting you

    It’s not hard to read between the lines.
    I was willing to continue supporting you financially as the underdog in the face of Apple challenging your market.
    But when you resort to bullying another underdog you lose my support.

    • cxjohnson says:

      Good on you, Bill. Somehow I missed this change, because my PandoraJam app just kept on working and cranking out the tunes until yesterday (and today it works again), so I checked for updates and learned the truth about what was going on. There have been lots of newcomers challenging Pandora. My associates all seem to prefer things like Spotify or Apple, but I’ve always stuck with Pandora. Guess maybe I’ll look into alternatives now, too.

  13. Open Sourcing PandoraJam would be a great thing under the circumstances. It was a great product. Hope to see it live on.

  14. Aaron M says:

    I’m so sorry to learn that PandoraJam has been forced to shutter. Thank you so much for your many years of hard work on the best Mac Pandora client conceivable. It will be a sad and quiet day when Pandora makes changes that break the functionality of this final version. So long, and thanks again!

  15. This is a great alternative I have been using for the last week, and it works with Spotify! :-)

    https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/41739/wondershare-allmymusic

  16. RandyC says:

    One more vote to Open the Source! pweeaaaasssseeee?

  17. Karen says:

    I’m so so sorry to hear this. I love this app. Thank you for putting out such a great product. And of course, like everyone else, I hope that you’ll be back.

  18. boohoo says:

    What a shame.. Just stopped by to check for updates and *BOOM*. PandoraJam was the only reason I bought a subscription to their service – you folks encouraged us through the app and it worked! As pointed out above, it was like making sweet mixtapes from the radio. I too push for open source, offering a link to your website for donationware of future users. As much as I enjoyed their service.. it looks like I’ll also be letting my subscription expire.

Leave a Reply

